Skip to main content

Fifty Years

May 2024
1min read

Only one upset Oberlin alumna has called us to task for our typographical error—Oberlin opened in 1833, not 1883, and was coeducational from the start. Graduates of other coeducational schools have pointed out that women were accepted by Waynesburg College of Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, in 1849 (one letter); Antioch College in 1852 (one letter); St. Lawrence University of Canton, New York, in 1856 (two letters); Swarthmore College in 1864 (three letters); and North Georgia College in 1873 when it admitted one woman, the daughter of the college president (one letter).

We hope you enjoy our work.

Please support this magazine of trusted historical writing, now in its 75th year, and the volunteers that sustain it with a donation to American Heritage.