The first schoolhouse in the vicinity was built in 1862 to serve area residents before the city of Ames was established. The acquisition, move, and restoration of this school were the driving forces in the founding of the Ames Heritage Association (now Ames Historical Society). In 1981, the one-room log-frame building was moved from 1008 3rd Street, where it had been incorporated into a dwelling, to its present site. Hundreds of visitors are welcomed at the school each season, and entire classes can be accommodated for an unforgettable living history experience. Out of a total of 53 remaining one-room schools in Story County, Hoggatt is one of four preserved as museums.