Skip to main content

Twenty-five Years Ago

May 2024
1min read

On May 30 A. J. Foyt won the fortyeighth Indianapolis 500 with an average speed of 147.35 miles per hour. A fiery crash on lap two piled up seven cars and delayed the race almost two hours. It was Foyt’s second of four victories at Indy.

We hope you enjoy our work.

Please support this magazine of trusted historical writing, now in its 75th year, and the volunteers that sustain it with a donation to American Heritage.